Sunday, June 16, 2019

Dapo Abiodun Reverses MAUTECH.

Prince Dapo Abiola on Sunday has ordered that  the Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology (MAUTECH) to return to Moshood Abiola Polytechnic (MAPOLY).
Senator Ibikunle Amosun had upgraded the State owned Polytechnic to a University of Science and Technology a decision that generated a lot of crisis  from members of the public.

The then governor also  relocated the Polytechnic to Ipokia area of the State a decision that did not go down well with the staff of the Polytechnic. 

But Governor Abiodun on Sunday constituted a committee to look into the operational modalities of the two institutions.

The Governor in a statement by his Chief Press Secretary, Mr.Olakunle Somorin in Abeokuta stated that revert became necessary because the State-owned Polytechnic had been  in comatose since the Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology, Abeokuta and Ogun State Polytechnic. Ipokia were created.

The Governor ordered that MAPOLY should revert to status quo ante with full academic activities restored, while the committee determines the way forward for the new institutions.
His words, “As a responsible Government,” said the Governor, “we cannot fold our arms and allow the situation to continue.
“We cherish human capital development. This committee is therefore set up to holistically review the status, viability and sustainability of these newly established institutions.
The review committee is expected to recommend operational modalities for these institutions after interfacing with stakeholders in the education  sector.
The committee headed by the former Vice Chancellor of Tai Solarin University of Education, Prof. Segun Awonusi, has the following terms of reference:
“To ascertain the current operational status of Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology, Abeokuta and Ogun State Polytechnic. Ipokia.

“To identify issues and challenges related to the establishment and operations of the two institutions.
“To determine the viability and sustainability of the institutions on a long term basis.
“To identify any other issue(s) related to the objectives of the assignment and to make recommendations for the consideration of the Government”.
The other members of the committee are, Alhaji Waheed Kadiri; fomer Rector of the institution, Prof Joseph Odemuyiwa, Dr. Biodun Oluseye, Mr. Abeeb Wale Ajayi, Mr. H.O. Ayoade and Dr. Waheed  Olanloye.

No comments:

Post Bottom Ad